Tag Archives: Anton

2011 Vuelta: Men of the Hour

This year’s Vuelta is shaping up to be an exciting race. A ripe General Classification battle is set to take place, featuring several big names who were either left out of their teams’ Tour de France selection, or crashed out in the attrition-riddled first half of the race. Let’s take a look at those from … Continue reading

Posted in Featured, Races | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Giro: Midweek Check-in and Questions

Pavé would like to thank Laekhouse for supporting our coverage of the 2011 Giro d’Italia. While it’s been overshadowed by the death of Wouter Weylandt, the first several stages of the 2011 Giro have had plenty of excitement to offer. Stage 5, over the Strade Bianchi, was won by Peter Weening, who bridged to the … Continue reading

Posted in Featured, Races | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

2011 Team-By-Team Season Preview: Euskaltel-Euskadi

Each year, Pavé previews the upcoming road season with a countdown of the top-20 teams in the sport. Here’s #10. #10 – Euskaltel-Euskadi With Grand Tour contenders Igor Anton and Samuel Sanchez leading the way, Euskaltel comes into 2011 hoping to find success similar to that of Liquigas last season. Anton was one the most … Continue reading

Posted in Featured, Teams | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

2010 Team-By-Team Season Review: #10

#10 – Euskaltel (Preview Ranking: #16) What We Said: With perhaps one or two exceptions, Euskaltel’s going to live and die on the back of Samuel Sanchez in 2010.  A force to be reckoned with in just about any hilly race, Sanchez is more known for the races he’s just missed winning (too many to … Continue reading

Posted in Featured, Teams | Tagged , , , , , , | 5 Comments

2010 Vuelta – Winners & Losers

The season’s third and final grand tour came down to the wire, ending what might have been one of the most competitive grand tour seasons in recent memory.  Before we all turn our attention to Worlds and the fall classics, here’s a rundown of the race’s winners and losers. Winners: Vincenzo Nibali Nibali iced the … Continue reading

Posted in Races | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment